## Cluster Admission Tests: Four engineering univs at odds over specifics



## **Staff Correspondent**

Four public engineering universities who had earlier agreed on a cluster admission test system, are divided on the question of where the exam would be held.

Opinion is also divided on which university the chairman of the admission committee will come from.

The issue surfaced in a virtual meeting between top officials of four universities and the University Grants Commission (UGC) yesterday.

The four universities are Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (Buet), Chattogram University of Engineering and Technology (Cuet), Rajshahi University of Engineering and Technology (Ruet) and Khulna University of Engineering and Technology (Kuet).

Vice chancellors from the four leading engineering universities could not reach to a consensus regarding chairmanship of admission test committee and test centre to hold the cluster admission tests, a UGC

statement said.

One of the vice chancellors said Buet authorities reiterated that their representative would always be chairman of the admission committee, and the exams be held at Buet only.

The statement said the authorities of Ruet, Cuet and Kuet proposed to nominate the chairman and test centre gradually following alphabetic order. "But pro-vice chancellor of Buet informed the meeting that they will take final decision to this end within a week after holding an urgent academic committee meeting".

Earlier, all four universities had agreed to join the uniform admission test titled "Central Admission Test".

VCs of 19 public universities decided that they would hold central admission tests and there would be three exams under the new system -- one each for science, humanities and business studies students -- based on the curriculum of grades XI and XII.

The new method of university admission has been in discussion since 2010. It is aimed at relieving admission seekers of the hassles of travelling to different universities in various parts of the country just to be able to sit for the tests every admission season.

On January 23 this year, the UGC announced that universities would hold a uniform admission test in the 2020-2021 academic year.

Seven agricultural universities will form a separate cluster to hold the uniform admission test.

Dhaka University, Rajshahi University, Jahangirnagar University and Chattogram University decided to opt out of the cluster.