New BSMMU VC pays tributes to Mujib

Staff Correspondent | Published: 01:26, Mar 31,2024



The new vice-chancellor of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University professor Dr Deen Md Nurul Haque, among others, offer prayer seeking eternal peace of the departed soul of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman at Tungipara in Gopalganj on Friday. — Press release

The newly appointed vice-chancellor of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University professor Dr Deen Md Nurul Haque paid tributes to the founding president of the country Sheikh Mujibur Rahman by placing wreath at his mausoleum at Tungipara in Gopalganj on Friday.

Nurul Haque offered prayer seeking eternal peace of the departed souls of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and other martyrs who were killed on August 15, 1975, said a press release.



A special prayer was also offered seeking longevity of the prime minister Sheikh Hasina and her family members.

While talking to journalists, the new VC promised to make BSMMU, the first medical university of the country established in the name of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, as one of the best medical universities in the world and ensure world standards in medical services, research and education by giving all the efforts to fulfil the expectations of the people of the country.

He also announced that the super specialised hospital of BSMMU, known as state of the art in medical services, would start operation in full motion soon.

Pro-VC (administration) professor Dr Saif Uddin Ahmed, pro-VC (research and development) professor Dr Md Moniruzzaman Khan, treasurer professor Dr Mohammad Atiqur Rahman, dean of the faculty of surgery professor Dr Mohammad Hossain, dean of dental faculty professor Dr Ali Azgar Moral, dean of the faculty of medicine professor Dr Abu Nasar Rizvi, dean of the faculty of nursing professor Dr Debbrata Banik, proctor professor Dr Habibur Rahman Dulal, hall provost professor Dr SM Mostafa Zaman, director (hospital) brigadier general Dr Md Rezaur Rahman, SWACHIP leader associate professor Dr Ariful Islam Jowardar Tito, additional director Dr Pabitra Kumar Debnath, Gopalgonj superintendent of police Albeli Afifa, district Awami League president Mahbub Ali Khan, among others, were present.

More about: