VC-backed panel gets landslide victory in JU senate, syndicate polls

Share Tweet Email Share Share

The Jahangirnagar University vice-chancellor-backed panel, Bangabandhu Shikkhak Parishad, won the university's senate and syndicate elections by a landslide, bagging all the seven posts.

The elections to the university's senate and syndicate were held on Tuesday on the campus to elect two syndicate members and five senate members in the principal of government college category.



The elections were held in the senate hall of the university's old administrative building from 1:30pm to 3:30pm on the day.

JU registrar and returning officer of the election Md Abu Hasan announced the results of the polls at about 11:00pm at the venue.

'A total of 286 teachers have cast their votes to elect seven candidates while 14 college principals have contested the polls for five senate and two syndicate member posts through ballot', Abu Hasan said.

The polls were held following the sections 19(1) (g) and 22(1) (d) of the Jahangirnagar University Act 1973, he said.

The fresh syndicate members are Dhaka College principal professor Mohammad Yusuf and Tejgaon College principal professor Md Harun-Ur-Rashid.

Professor Yousuf and professor Harun bagged 163 and 155 votes respectively.

The fresh senate members are Rashidajoha Government Women's College Principal professor Md Khademul Islam (161 votes), principal of Government Michael Madhusudan College professor Morjina Akhtar (158 votes), principal of Shaheed Bulbul Government College professor Md Bahej Uddin (151 votes), Ananda Mohan College principal professor Md Aman Ullah (148 votes), Begum Rokeya Government College principal professor Chinmoy Baurai (132 votes).

This year, a total of 16 candidates have participated in two separate panels to contest the elections.

The vice-chancellor, professor Md Nurul Alam-backed panel Bangabandhu Shikkhak Parishad was a panel of the ruling Awami League leaning teachers.

Another Awami League-backed platform named Muktijuddher Chetona O Bangabandhu Adarsher Shikkhak Parishad and pro-BNP teacher platform Nationalists Teachers' Forum contested the polls under a unified platform named Shikkhak Oikya Parishad.

Shikkhak Oikya Parishad failed to secure any post in the policy-making bodies of the university.

The last senate and syndicate representative elections in the college principal category were held in 2018.